How Many Countries are Located in Southern Africa?


Southern Africa is a region known for its diverse landscapes, rich history, and vibrant cultures. It is home to several countries that contribute to the region’s uniqueness. In this article, we will explore the number of countries located in Southern Africa and provide detailed information about each country.

Table of Contents:

  1. Introduction
  2. Countries in Southern Africa
  3. South Africa
  4. Namibia
  5. Botswana
  6. Zimbabwe
  7. Mozambique
  8. Angola
  9. Zambia
  10. Malawi
  11. Lesotho
  12. Eswatini
  13. Conclusion


Southern Africa is a subregion of the African continent located south of the equator. It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, the Indian Ocean to the east, and shares land borders with other regions of Africa. The region is known for its diverse geography, including deserts, grasslands, mountains, and stunning coastlines.

Let’s now explore the countries that make up Southern Africa.

How Many Countries are in South Africa

African Countries and Their Location/Africa Political Map/Africa Continent/List of African Countries

Countries in Southern Africa

Southern Africa consists of a total of 11 countries. Each country has its own unique history, culture, and natural attractions. Below, we will delve into each country individually.

1. South Africa

South Africa is the southernmost country in Africa and is often considered the gateway to the region. It is known for its diverse population, which includes various ethnic groups and languages. South Africa offers a blend of modern cities, stunning wildlife reserves, and breathtaking landscapes, such as the iconic Table Mountain.

2. Namibia

Namibia is located in southwestern Africa and is renowned for its vast desert landscapes, including the Namib Desert, which is considered one of the oldest deserts in the world. The country is also home to diverse wildlife, such as the endangered black rhino and the majestic African elephant.

3. Botswana

Botswana is a landlocked country bordered by South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, and Zambia. It is known for its thriving wildlife and diverse ecosystems, including the Okavango Delta, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Botswana is a popular destination for safari enthusiasts who seek an authentic African wildlife experience.

4. Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe, located in the southern part of the continent, offers a mix of natural beauty and ancient history. The country is home to the majestic Victoria Falls, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Zimbabwe also has a rich cultural heritage, with the ruins of Great Zimbabwe showcasing the country’s historical significance.

5. Mozambique

Mozambique is a country located on the southeastern coast of Africa, with the Indian Ocean to its east. The country is known for its stunning beaches, vibrant marine life, and coral reefs. Mozambique offers a unique blend of African, Portuguese, and Arab influences, which is reflected in its cuisine and cultural traditions.

6. Angola

Angola, located on the western coast of Southern Africa, is a country rich in natural resources, including oil, diamonds, and minerals. The country has a diverse cultural heritage, with various ethnic groups and languages. Angola’s natural wonders, such as the Tundavala Fissure and the Kissama National Park, attract adventurers and nature enthusiasts.

7. Zambia

Zambia is a landlocked country bordered by eight other African countries. It is known for its vast wilderness areas, including the famous Victoria Falls and the South Luangwa National Park, which is home to a wide range of wildlife species. Zambia is also renowned for its warm hospitality and traditional ceremonies.

8. Malawi

Malawi is a landlocked country located in southeastern Africa. It is known as the “Warm Heart of Africa” due to its friendly people and welcoming atmosphere. Lake Malawi, one of the largest lakes in Africa, is a major attraction, offering opportunities for water sports and relaxation on pristine beaches.

9. Lesotho

Lesotho is a small, landlocked country surrounded by South Africa. It is known for its stunning mountain landscapes, with the entire country situated at high altitudes. Lesotho offers opportunities for hiking, skiing, and exploring traditional Basotho culture.

10. Eswatini

Eswatini, formerly known as Swaziland, is a small kingdom located in Southern Africa. The country is known for its rich cultural heritage, highlighted by the vibrant annual Umhlanga Reed Dance. Eswatini also offers beautiful nature reserves, such as the Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary, where visitors can spot a variety of wildlife species.


Southern Africa is a region that encompasses diverse countries, each with its own unique attractions and cultural heritage. From the bustling cities of South Africa to the vast deserts of Namibia and the stunning wildlife of Botswana, Southern Africa offers something for every traveler. Exploring the countries in this region provides an opportunity to witness the beauty and diversity of Africa.

Rate article
Add a comment