Countries in North America


North America is a continent located in the Northern Hemisphere, and it is made up of several countries. In this article, we will explore in detail the countries that comprise North America.

Main Countries in North America

North America consists of 23 countries, including:

  1. Canada
  2. United States
  3. Mexico
  4. Guatemala
  5. Belize
  6. El Salvador
  7. Honduras
  8. Nicaragua
  9. Costa Rica
  10. Panama
  11. Bahamas
  12. Cuba
  13. Jamaica
  14. Haiti
  15. Dominican Republic
  16. Barbados
  17. Trinidad and Tobago
  18. Grenada
  19. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  20. Saint Lucia
  21. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  22. Antigua and Barbuda
  23. Dominica


Canada is the second-largest country in the world by land area. It is located in the northern part of North America and is bordered by the United States. Canada is known for its diverse landscapes, including vast forests, mountains, and Arctic tundra. It is a parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy, with Ottawa as its capital city.

North America Geography/North American Countries

All about North America for Kids | Learn about the countries of the North American Continent

United States

The United States is the third-largest country in the world by land area. It is located in the central part of North America and is bordered by Canada and Mexico. The United States is known for its cultural diversity, technological advancements, and economic power. It is a federal republic, with Washington, D.C. as its capital city.


Mexico is the third-largest country in the Americas and the 11th most populous country in the world. It is located in the southern part of North America and is bordered by the United States, Belize, and Guatemala. Mexico is known for its rich history, vibrant culture, and ancient ruins such as Teotihuacan and Chichen Itza. Mexico City is its capital and largest city.

Central American Countries

In addition to the main countries mentioned above, there are several smaller countries located in the region known as Central America. These countries include Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama. Each of these countries has its own unique culture, history, and natural beauty.

Caribbean Countries

The Caribbean region, also part of North America, is home to several island nations. These countries include the Bahamas, Cuba, Jamaica, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Dominica. The Caribbean is known for its stunning beaches, vibrant music, and cultural heritage.


North America is a continent with diverse countries, each offering its own unique experiences and attractions. From the vast landscapes of Canada and the cultural melting pot of the United States to the rich history of Mexico and the tropical paradises of the Caribbean, North America has something for everyone to explore and enjoy.

Rate article
Add a comment